My Heart Go Ba-Boom Boom Boom

Standard

Have you ever had a song stuck in your head, and you just keep singing the same part over and over again?

Well, in case you’re wondering about the title I chose for this post, it is part of a Sade song that I’ve had stuck in my mind for like a week!  Since it mentions the heart, and I’m posting about Valentines Day – I figured “what the heck.”

If you’re curious as to which song and want it stuck in your head (it’s not a bad thing!) click on the video (and be patient, after about 55 seconds into it, the song switches gears!)

Okay, I’ve had my fun, shall we get on with the post?

With Valentines Day right around the corner I thought I would post some cookies I did a couple of years ago for my kids to hand out at school.

For the cookies above, I found the cutters at the bottom of my cookie cutter pile, I liked they way they were laid out in the package. So I decided to make cards with the letters laid out in the same manner. I found some bright colored striped wrapping paper in my collection, so came up with the idea to use it for the background. I cut it out and glued it to construction paper.

After cutting out the letters and before baking them, I used a straw to punch out two holes on one side of the letter so that I could tie it to the background paper. After they were baked and cooled I decorated them with chocolate frosting. (I actually had a better idea in my mind’s eye . . . but just plain ran out of steam, so went a more simpler route with the chocolate icing.)

I then used yarn to tie each letter to the construction paper base with a yarn needle.

The gingerbread men and hearts below, really have potential to be adorable if you have the time to spare on them, which I didn’t, so again went the easy route (I made both types of cookies at the same time so you could probably imagine . . . I just didn’t have the time to spend on them to get them as cute as could be — Maybe you can do better!)

I made these in the same fashion as the LOVE cookies above, punching holes with a straw in the gingerbread men and hearts before baking so that I could tie them together after I decorated them.

I’m not sure what I’ll do this year, time is not as readily available as it used to be for me, so we’ll have to see . . .

Leave a Reply

