Lego Party!

Standard

I know I’ve been a bad little blogger ūüė¶

Does, “it’s been just plain crazy busy around here!” suffice as a good excuse?

I haven’t quite reached the novice blogger status yet, so whipping up a new post is not always a quickie for me, I just haven’t had the time sit down and put one together.

OK — enough excuses!

I felt it was about time I shared some birthday pictures with you. Xander had a Lego party in, like September (I say sheepishly) I know – I know, I did get a draft started right after the party, but I just never got around to finishing it up. Besides I wasn’t really crazy about the¬†quality of the photos I took. It was in late afternoon and the sun was glaring in our window so I had to shut the blinds and then use the flash and . . . blah, blah, blah.

Anyway, both of my sons are big Lego fans, so a Lego party was definitely a theme we could not pass up. My first son was lucky enough to have his party at the Lego store, but I have been told they don’t do that anymore, so that left me to my own devices for son #2.

There are a couple of ways to do this: Make your own invitations, etc, pay to have them printed for you (pay for printable downloads to print yourself), or buy a party pack from the Lego store (if they are still selling them, I bet you can find someone selling one online.) My intention was to do it all myself, because I find the creative outlet fun, but I happened to be in the Lego store one day and saw that they had their Birthday Party Kit¬†for $20. I love making my own invitations but this time I opted for Lego brand and convenience, all at a great price of $20. The kit includes a set of 10 each postcard invitations, Thank you’s, name tags, and a special birthday mini figure with building tips included. There is also a special birthday card and magnetic brick for the one celebrating their birthday.

Now I did find a ton of awesome ideas to use for everything else birthday party related: decorations, games, food, cake, snacks, goody bags . . . you name it, it’s out there. So go check out my Lego Birthday Party board on Pinterest.

For activities, as part of his birthday presents, Xander got the “Life of George” game. They split into groups and half of the played “Creationary” (older brother’s game) while the others played “Life of George.” (That is a pretty fun game by the way.) And then they switched.

(Click on the pictures to take you to the website on Lego.com)
life of george

creationary

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Now for the party pictures (again remember my less than perfect setting for picture taking,) And, as always, I just plain ran out of time for everything I wanted to do, but I think I had a couple of great things that made the party more festive. Again, check out my pinterest board for a ton of other ideas I just couldn’t get to.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I captured the minifigure picture above from the Lego website using Grab Alias and made stickers to put on the balloon ribbons.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I really like these poster board bricks. It’s so easy and simple and looks great! I also found the Lego font free online, and with a yellow marker around the letters and then glued them to the read card stock. I punched holes on the top to thread the string through for the banner.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Went to Lego Land several years ago, and I saved the bags we got from there and ¬†made a nice picture with the tickets, etc behind glass for oldest son’s room. I decided to used the leftover side to make a colorful picture for the gift table.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The name plate was a gift to my oldest son a couple of years ago, so I thought it would be cool to use on the table. We went to the store and got some pick a bricks, and my oldest son put together this plastic ware container on wheels. We taped a string on either end so that the boys could pull it to them and get their forks and spoons

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I printed out some minifigure heads and glued them to the cups. The link has several different faces on them. We also printed out the Lego napkin strip (inside the napkin is a straw with a lego minifigure head taped to it.)



OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

He wanted pie instead of a cake so I had him build platforms of different heights out of duplos to use for the pies. I found the Lego candles at Target (I believe.)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I had a huge store bag and decided to cut it to make a banner for the front door.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I was about to put these big blocks in storage for potential grand children, but decided to have Xander build some things to put outside with the banner to greet his friends.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA


WHAT I USED AND WHERE I FOUND IT:

Lego font:¬†I honestly don’t remember where I downloaded the font from, but there are lots of sites out there. I looked at this sight and it seemed like it was a good place to download it, plus it’s free. ¬† http://fontmeme.com/lego-font/

Lego Minifigure head printables: This is where I found the straw toppers. There are many other great things to print from this link. The toppers are the last page so just keep scrolling until you get to them.  http://blog.aussiepumpkinpatch.com/2011/03/lego-party-printables.html

This is where I found the minifugure faces for the cups, and the Lego napkin strips: http://showerofroses.blogspot.com/2011/02/lego-themed-birthday-party.html

**I didn’t come across these until now, but these could be used as napkin ring papers or something. Very cute.¬†http://www.eurobricks.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=30761

3677242134_444071e4ef_b

2 responses »

  1. Aww what a nice party! I like the Lego utensil container with wheels and string. I’m sure the kids loved that! My daughter had a lego party a year ago too. She’s a big fan of lego.

Leave a Reply

